Close
Search
Filters

Siyanqoba Regional Olympiad Training Programme

 

'Siyanqoba' means 'we are winning' and is a good motto for the training plan. We hope that learners will experience a feeling that they are winning, when they qualify for the Second or Final rounds of the South African Mathematics Olympiad, are selected for the ASSA SA Maths Team Competition or attend a SAMF Olympiad  camp. 
 
Hard work and training throughout the year are necessary in order to improve one’s mathematical skills and performance in mathematical Olympiads. The regional programme envisages addressing this problem by providing Olympiad training in different centres throughout the country. 
 
The programme is funded by the Department of Science and Innovation and is offered free of charge to talented high school students throughout the country who show particular ability and interest in mathematics. The programme concentrates on developing problem solving skills, unlike in regular school curricula where the focus is more on solving routine-type questions. The emphasis is on the understanding of mathematical concepts rather than pure memorization of formulae. It furthermore covers enrichment material which is not in the school curriculum and aims to improve our competitiveness internationally.
 
The programme is NOT:
  • A school mathematics revision or remedial programme.
  • A substitute for any part of the normal school mathematics programme.
  • A bridging course in preparation for university mathematics.
  • A programme of acceleration as the mathematics discussed will come from outside the school curriculum. 
 
The established training centres for the project are:
Town Centre Regional Organiser Email Telephone
Soshanguve TUT Phumezile Kama

kamap@tut.ac.za

 

012 382 6110
Port Elizabeth Algoa Vasu Govender

vggovender@telkomsa.net

 

041 457 1460
Mafikeng NWU Mariette Hitge

mariette.Hitge@nwu.ac.za

 

018 299 2579
Bloemfontein EMS Elsie Schoombie

schoome@gmail.com

 

051 436 3048
Thengwe Univen Simiso Moyo

smoyo@univen.ac.za

 

015 962 8940
Pretoria UP Ruaan Kellerman

Ruaan.Kellerman@up.ac.za

 

012 420 2572
Kimberley SPU Stephen Sikwala

stephen.sikwala@spu.ac.za

 

053 491 0211
Johannesburg Wits Belinda Huntley

dr.belindahuntley@gmail.com

 

 087 353 7896
Durban UKZN Poobhalan Pillay

pillayph@ukzn.ac.za

 

031 400 3576
Rhodes Grahamstown Eric Adriantiana

E.Andriantiana@ru.ac.za

 

046 603 8610

 
  
Register as online user to gain access to advanced training sessions videotaped by St Stithians College. Link at bottom of the page.  
      
 

 

 

 

 


 

A case study of the UP Siyanqoba mathematics enrichment programme: Where did they go?

Dr Harry Wiggins, University of Pretoria: Presentation

Harry Wiggins Presentation