Pan African Mathematics Olympiad

PAMO 2019 Results

PAMO is an annual event organised by the African Mathematical Union (AMU). The objective is to encourage talent and exchange information on curricula and teaching methods in mathematics across the African continent. Participation in PAMO is by invitation only and the official languages are French and English. Each country is entitled to send a team consisting of a team leader that is a mathematics teacher at a secondary or tertiary level, and four pupils younger than twenty (20) years old. 

South Africa has taken part in the PAMO since 2000 and is normally ranked first or second. South Africa hosted the event in 2002 and 2009. The top achievers of the South African Mathematics Olympiad are considered to represent South Africa at the PAMO. 

For more information about PAMO visit their website:



Country Total Ranking
Morocco 147 1
Souht Africa 143 2
Tunisia 133 3
Nigeria 89 4
Togo 56 5
Uganda 34 6
Tanzania 33 7
Zimbabwe 27 8
Zimbabwe 27 8
Malawi 21 9
Ghana 8 10
Botswana 3 11

South Africa's performance since 2010:  








Dylan Nelson (Team Leader), Lauren Denny (Deputy Team Leader), Kgaugelo BopapeDanielle Kleyn, Malwande Nkonyane, Razeen Parker, Klara Eybers Amber De Decker

1 gold, 4 silver and 1 bronze medal



Dylan Nelson (Team Leader), Lauren Denny (Deputy Team Leader), Emile Tredoux, Malwande Nkonyan, Emma NelKlara Eybers, Rauseenah Upadhey and Kgaugelo Bopape.

Four bronze medals 



Liam Baker (Team Leader), Dylan Nelson (Deputy Team Leader), SangEun Lee, Ralph McDougall, Timothy Schlesinger, Hannah Clayton, Rauseenah Upadhey and Mpho Nkwana.

Two gold, two silver and two bronze medals



Liam Baker (Team Leader), Dylan Nelson (Deputy Team Leader), SangEun Lee, Jiangliang Yu, Hannah Clayton, Glenda Watt,Arthur Qampi and Timothy Schlesinger.

One gold, one silver medal and four bronze medals



Maciej Stankiewicz (Leader), Phil Labuschagne (Deputy Leader), Andrew McGregor, Mohammed Yaseen Mowzer, Bronson Luke Rudner and Nashlen Govindasamy.

Four silver medals



Dr Dirk Basson (Team Leader), Phil Labuschagne (Deputy Team Leader), Shaylan Lalloo, Lauren Denny, Chris Kim, Nicholas Cheng.

One gold,one silver medal and two bronze medals



Dr Dirk Basson (Team Leader),Jacobus van Zyl (Deputy Team Leader), Kira Dusterwald, Dalian Dhaneshwar Sunder, Seth Sashen Durais, Thalalolwazi Msutu

One gold and two silver medals