You have no items in your shopping cart.

South African Maths Teams Announced

Monday, 22 May 2017

Eight learners from the Western Cape feature in the South African Maths teams named by the South African Mathematics Foundation (SAMF) as their preparations begin to take shape for the 2017 International Mathematical Olympiad (IMO) and Pan African Mathematics Olympiad (PAMO).

Sixty of our country’s best young mathematicians were invited to an Olympiad camp in December 2016 at the University of Stellenbosch, whereafter the group was trimmed down to 21 high school learners for the April camp in Cape Town. During this camp the learners participated in a series of mathematical lectures and test requiring insight, ingenuity and logical rigorous proofs. The SAMF then selected 6 learners for the IMO taking place from 16 to 23 July in Brazil and 6 learners for the PAMO taking place from 1 to 6 July in Morocco.

Tim Schlesinger, Ralph McDougall and Rauseenah Upadhey participated in the 2016 PAMO, where the South African team finished in first place. Emil van der Walt, Taariq Mowzer, Aaron Naidu, Adri Wessels and Tim Schlesinger were national medallists of the 2016 South African Mathematics Olympiad.  Contestants of both the IMO and PAMO are selected through each country’s national Mathematical Olympiad or equivalent selection programme. 

Aaron Naidu, Kgaogelo Bopape and Malwande Nkonyane attend the SAMF’s Siyanqoba Regional Olympiad Training Programme’s classes, a SAMF initiative sponsored by the Department of Science & Technology, which concentrates on developing problem solving skills, unlike in regular school curricula where the focus is more on solving routine-type questions. The programme offers Olympiad training at nine centres across the country.

“This is a talented group of learners, who were selected after really hard work and commitment. We are excited about the challenge ahead and believe that the learners will be up for it,” said the Executive Director of the SAMF Professor Johann Engelbrecht.

The SA team for the 2017 IMO: Tim Schlesinger (Grade11, Rondebosch Boys’ High School), Emil van der Walt (Grade10, Hoërskool Jan van Riebeeck), Taariq Mowzer (Grade10, Fairbairn College), Ralph McDougall (Grade11, Curro Durbanville), Aaron Naidu (Grade10, Eden College) and Adri Wessels (Grade10, Curro Durbanville).


The SA team for the 2017 PAMO: Kgaogelo Bopape (Grade 9, Horizon International High School), Malwande Nkonyane (Grade11, Horizon International High School), Emile Tredoux (Grade 11, Parklands College), Rauseenah Upadhey (Grade 11, Westerford High School), Klara Eybers (Grade 10, Hoërskool Menlopark), Amber de Decker (Grade 11, Herschel Girls’ High School).


Word count: 403


Issued by the South African Mathematics Foundation. To arrange interviews with the team contact:

Ellie Olivier

Operational Manager


Tel: 012 392 9323


Date: 22 May 2017


For comments please contact

Professor Johann Engelbrecht, Executive Director

South African Mathematics Foundation

Tel: 012 420 2883



Leave your comment